Aug 08
Bout of Books for August 22 – 28

Bout of Books for August 22 – 28

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 22nd and runs through Sunday, August 28th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 17 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team. My goals for the week: I never, ever get to all of my books… Read more »

Aug 07
Sunday Post! Summer Hiatus

Sunday Post! Summer Hiatus

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.     What’s happening here: So much has happened this year. I went to visit Nana for two months at the beginning of 2016 and since then the year has just flown by. Normally, like many book bloggers, I read multiple books a week but this… Read more »

Jul 11
Audio Book Review: Heartstealer by K.T. Bryski

Audio Book Review: Heartstealer by K.T. Bryski

  Audio: Listening on audio was almost a disservice for this book. There are too many points of view to keep track of. If the point of view switched and I did not catch it then I would have to rewind or hope that I would catch up by who they were talking about. It got easier as the story moved along but with so many points of view, it took a while. The narration was very good. Blythe Haynes does a great job at keeping the voices distinct. There are many different types of accents were very well done…. Read more »

Jul 07
Book Review: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Book Review: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

  As much as I have loved Terry Pratchett I have tried to read this multiple times with fail. I did get through it this time but it was still not my favorite. What I did love is the style that is much like Douglas Adams. It reminded me quite a bit of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. The sarcastic views of the characters really lent a lot to the plot. I found myself laughing many times at the banter. Sadly, it still did not hit all of my spots. Something about it, maybe because I listened on audible,… Read more »

Jul 04
Audio Book Review: 18 Wheels of Horror

Audio Book Review: 18 Wheels of Horror

I loved so much of this! I’ve listened to Eric Miller’s anthologies before so I knew what I was getting myself into. Some really horrific, some not so much, all fantastic!  There were some that really made me enjoy my time and left me thinking. Some didn’t quite hit the mark, but as a whole this anthology was awesome! I am sure those that are truckers will enjoy the horror stories even more. I’m sure they have heard them all! A Dark Road by Ray Garton Rising Fawn by Brad C. Hodson Never Lost Again by Joseph Spencer Big Water… Read more »

Jul 01
Book Review: Everland by Wendy Spinale

Book Review: Everland by Wendy Spinale

  This immediately grabbed my interest! First is the gorgeous cover. The synopsis was fabulously written as well. Peter Pan with a steampunk twist sounds marvelous. The plot is very well done. I feel instantly in love with Gwen and her plight to keep her siblings safe. Sadly, she does not always make the best choices and soon finds the children in peril with only two strange children that can help. Of course her first meeting with Peter and Bella is strained, at best! Getting their help is the last thing she wants. I loved how the Lost Boys were… Read more »

Jun 28
Book Review: Sapient Salvation: The Divining

Book Review: Sapient Salvation: The Divining

  After such a great book one and two, this one is almost like a breather. It is the epitome of the middle child book. It continues the story very well but did not have as much depth as the first. First, if you have not read the first two, those must be read in order! This story, and the characters will make absolutely no sense without the book being read in order. I am really happy with the character arcs. I do not want to spoil but I was shocked, multiple times, by the actions of certain characters. Some… Read more »

Jun 27
Audio Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Audio Book Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power. This is the blurb from Goodreads. Having read both, I can say that I did not enjoy World War Z but see where they find it similar. The interview technique and the reader not knowing what is happening other than what is in the interviews. There is quite a bit of science in this, which particularly interests me. Not so much like The Martian though. The comic relief… Read more »

Jun 24
Book Review: The Demonologist by Gerald Brittle

Book Review: The Demonologist by Gerald Brittle

  Excited about the movie, The Conjuring 2, I decided to also get The Demonologist to find out a bit more about the case in Enfield but the book gave much, much more. Horror: There is so much horror in this that I wound up having nightmares. I even had to put the book down for a couple of days. There is a lot in this about many of the cases that Ed and Lorraine had to deal with over the years. The book is done in interview form and much of it is Ed discussing what happens when he… Read more »

Jun 21
Book Review: Sapient Salvation: The Awakening

Book Review: Sapient Salvation: The Awakening

  This picks up right where book one leaves off. It is fabulous if you read book one, but if not, I suggest reading that straight away! This does have a little bit to remind, but certainly not enough to stand alone! The first had a great setting of anticipation. The intensity that grows as the plot grows, is still there, but for different reasons. Maya and Toric have so much to talk about, but the more they talk, the more questions they both have (and the reader too!!). With how the first ending I knew this was going to… Read more »

Jun 20
Audio Book Review: (R)evolution by P.J. Manney

Audio Book Review: (R)evolution by P.J. Manney

To begin with I was enthralled. The opening is fantastic and I was all ready to set in for my 15 hours of listening. 15 hours is a huge chunk of time but we all know that time is relative and with a good book, 15 hours can seem like 15 seconds. Sadly, that was not the case for this. The first hour, or so, was fantastic but then the plot got confusing, the characters are mostly the same, and sadly, I just wanted it to end. I get very excited when I read books about psychology treatments and technology…. Read more »